MUST READ “UNDEFEATED”, by Scott Hildreth – My inspiration to write a book about A Boxer, A Girl, and a love that defines love

http://www.amazon.com/Undefeated-Erotic-Romance-Scott-Hildreth-ebook/dp/B00HOSAE52/

My inspiration to write Undefeated, and the hope that it may inspire someone to get out of an abusive relationship, came from the events described below. The events below are true. The events in the book are not. The book is one hundred percent fiction.

One weekend, I had a girl get in touch with me that I had never met. She had received my telephone number from a friend of a friend. Frantic, she attempted to speak to me initially, but each time she tried, she was overcome with emotion.

This emotion filled silence continued for almost an hour, and then we then actually began to communicate, albeit slowly, and one-sided. I learned through the conversation (that lasted almost eight hours) that she was bound by her husband, and gang raped by his friends. This happened for a few days. Against, if I even need to state this, her will. She was in and out of consciousness for two days. Eventually, she was released. In shock and extremely poor health, she contacted me from a remote hotel room.

I struggled with this event, and how to handle it. I struggled with this more than I have struggled with almost anything in my life. Vengeance. At what point does one administer justice to someone that the courts will undoubtedly not punish properly? The punishment for this particular crime, regardless of what was imposed by the court, would not be sufficient for the crime committed.

I chose at the time to speak to another close female friend about the event, and get her opinion.

Although I could not speak to my friend about the person, the events, or the intimacies of the above mentioned conversation, we spoke for some time in general about God, about law and about the difference between what is right and what is wrong. I shared with her my thoughts of feeling a need to resolve this issue with the caller’s husband on my own. When the smoke cleared, I sat in a coffee shop and thought. I made a decision. “Put up again thy sword into his place; for all they that take the sword shall perish with the sword.” I decided, for once in my life, that it was not my responsibility to resolve this issue. I contacted the authorities, called in a few favors from some friends in law enforcement, and the issue was dealt with in a manner in accordance with law.

My female friend, as always, proved extremely useful in her ability to convey her understanding of the message of God in a manner that I could listen to and accept. I have always struggled with attempting to do what is right (in my mind), and hoped that it was what was right in God’s eyes. I do not know that these things always were in line with one another.

Until now.

And now, a year later, the person from the incident above?

She is well. As well as she can be, considering all things. She is fortunate.

I struggle – still today – with thoughts of vengeance.

My struggle brought me to this.

I hope you enjoy.

4 Responses to “MUST READ “UNDEFEATED”, by Scott Hildreth – My inspiration to write a book about A Boxer, A Girl, and a love that defines love”

  1. […] The ideas that I have, and the books that I write « MUST READ “UNDEFEATED”, by Scott Hildreth – My inspiration to write a book about A… […]

  2. One tap!!!! I am struggling to find words to describe my feelings and thoughts after reading UNDEFEATED!!! You are truly Blessed with the gift of writing. It’s like being pulled into the story and experiencing every emotion each character feels. Your extraordinary writing style actually feels like a direct connection that reaches out….tap!!! I’m too nervous and just can’t explain it right. I just feel it!!
    I absolutely loved this beautiful but painful love story!! Kace deserves to live a fairytale life after the years of abuse she survived. She is not broken because of her loving spirit and sheer goodness. Her strength and determination made her almost seem “Cinderella-ish” and I loved her!!
    Here are my thoughts about Shane and Griff:
    Courageous, powerful, honorable, resilient, fearless, passionate, Faithful, beautiful, and so dayum sexy!!!
    Honestly, I will probably re-read Griff’s vengeance scene because it was truly my favorite part of the story!!! Never in my life have I cheered so loud or laughed so hard!! Griff is my new favorite so please, please, please write his story next!!!
    You are beautiful Mr. Hildreth!!!

  3. […] of that falls into my normal genre of novel, but I read Scott’s inspiration to write the book (https://scottdhildrethauthor.wordpress.com/2014/01/11/must-read-undefeated-by-scott-hildreth-my-inspi&#8230😉 and decided it was worth my time to check it […]

  4. […] The sincerity in the characters and the natural flow of the plot development made Undefeated an enjoyable read. Told in dual POV, we experience both Shane and Kace’s perspective on abuse and the after effects they cause. One element that drew me to this read is my love for Mr. Hildreth’s honest and straight forward writing style. In fact,Undefeated was inspired by a true story. You can read that story here: Hildreth. […]

Leave a Reply

