An author’s obligation…

10835329_1444164325828123_5665765874732662006_oI have something to say.

Let us not forget what brought us together in the first place. A love of reading. The escape. A book takes us to a place where we can’t exist without it. Be it for an hour, while the baby is napping, or while waiting for the kids at the bus stop, a book allows us to live a life far beyond what we are able to in its absence.

It seems that factions or facets of the industry (as a whole) have become a breeding ground for finger-pointing, name-calling, bashing of upcoming (and established) authors, readers, bloggers, and public relations people.

I find it sad. I would say ‘can’t we all just get along’, but I could say that about any group of people.

I guess what I would like to see is all of us getting back to the basics–

Authors focusing on writing a great story, and readers, through said authors, escaping to a place they would never be able to reside otherwise.

As an author, I feel that I have an obligation to the reading world. To provide a well-written story that allows the reader to escape. If accurately depicted by the synopsis, the potential reader should be able to make an educated decision as to whether or not the book I have written is for them.

If so, great.

If not, that is also great. Return my book for a full refund and go find another author’s book that suits you. For me to think reading starts and stops with what I have written is ludicrous. Not only do I support other indie author’s work by purchasing and reading their books, I highly suggest you do the same. If you’d like suggestions based on what I have enjoyed, PM me.

When writing became my only career, there were very few in the industry. Now, there are many. But, regardless of the amount of people who reside here, we all need to remember a few things.

One, this is not a competition – at some point, we were all up-coming.

And, two, we’re all here for the same reason (or at least we should be) – to provide an escape to the reader.

In accepting payment for my work, I have an obligation to those who have spent their hard-earned money.

Craft a well-written tale that has yet to be told. Then, make it available to the reading public.

And do so while remaining humble and human at all times.

Every morning, as soon as I get up, I brush my teeth while looking in the mirror.

I’m proud of the person who looks back at me.

Are you?

If not, it’s never too late to make a change.

*raises coffee cup*

“Here’s hoping we can all become better at being human.”

Respectfully,

Scott Hildreth

 

 

4 Responses to “An author’s obligation…”

  1. Charlotte Dufrene Says:

    Dear Scott, I am sad there is dissension in the work place. So many authors, especially you, offer an escape and luxury I cannot do without. There are many good authors. Some are new and need time to hone their skills but I’m sure they’ll get there. I wish you all the best. Your work is so necessary to the sanity of so many. Thank you, Charlotte

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Well said, Scott!

Leave a Reply

